Book Tag – Studio Ghibli Book Tag

Hey everybody! This tag was originally created by Spiccy Cullen and then translated (and tinkered with) by sydneysshelves. I’ve been tagged by the wonderful whatalovelybook to complete this tag, go check them out! Thank you so much for tagging me, I absolutely love Studio Ghibli films!

893172

1. Castle in the Sky: A book that speaks of an exciting and wonderful journey.

The first thing I could think of that has an exciting and (questionably) wonderful journey was Percy Jackson, especially since I’m reading it for my read-a-thon. It follows Percy and his friends on a journey of discovery and mystery, trying to find the lightning thief! I’d say that would be pretty exciting, throwing in Greek history, monsters and Gods/Goddesses, I’m sure it’d be fun but terrifying.

 

2. Grave of Fireflies: A book that left you shaken and emotional

Honestly, I don’t think I’ve ever been left shaken and emotional by a book before. I’ve certainly cried before and the only one that left me crying for quite some time was The Book Thief! That ending though! I don’t think I’ve ever cried more in my life, but I wasn’t shaken by it.

3. Kiki’s Delivery Service: A book with a particularly courageous female lead

My friend helped me with this one. We chose If I Was Your Girl. The character of 29470648Amanda is so courageous and amazing. She’s certainly someone I’d love to meet and even be, personality-wise, one day.

4. Spirited Away: A book set in a space time parallel to ours

This one was actually pretty hard for me, I had to leave it for last to figure out but, finally, I thought of something! Peter Darling probably fits pretty well in here. The author made it that the characters were in a parallel to ours, though possibly different time period, but it still works. It’s really the only book I could think of that would at least partially fit.

5. Howl’s Moving Castle: A book full of magic

I was going to be clichéd and say Harry Potter, but I thought of something better. The Witches by Roald Dahl, a childhood favourite – Well, Roald Dahl books in general were childhood favourites – and I still love it to this day.

6. Tales from Earthsea: A book that had high expectations and let you down.

23395680This answer was a pretty quick one, Illuminae. I give it credit for the uniqueness and the storyline but it just wasn’t my thing and I had very high expectations after the amount of positive reviews on Goodreads and on blogs, but this fell short. Sorry!

7. Ponyo: A book from your childhood that you cannot NOT reread

Oh I bet you can all guess what I’m going to say here – Peter Pan. If anyone knows me (or my blog) well enough, you’ll know I absolutely adore and love Peter Pan, so much so that I have multiple copies of the book (and even multiple movie versions).

8. From Up On Poppy Hill: A book full of mystery and love

Jane Eyre was the first book to come to mind when it said ‘mystery and love’. There was the whole mystery of Mr Rochester (and another thing that I won’t spoil in case) and then the love between Jane and Rochester. It works pretty well, I’d say.

9. The Wind Rises: A book with a protagonist with a drawer full of dreams

The Invention of Hugo Cabret, he has so many dreams and ideas. I love this book and equally enjoyed the movie! It’s such a sweet and amazing story, I can’t believe it took me a long time to get to it.

10. When Marnie Was There: a book that talks about a special friendship

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, I found this to be such a beautifully written story of friendship and more. It made me feel so many amazing emotions, some good, some bad. I’d recommend this to anyone and everyone.

51oxgdr3tzl-_sx324_bo1204203200_

11. My Neighbor Totoro: A good “haunted house” story

The first thing I thought of was Marzia’s Dream House. That was one of the best ‘haunted house’ stories I remember. I still remember the story today. It’s certainly not for everyone but its a pretty good one for Halloween.

12. Whispers of the Heart: A geeky love story you can’t get enough of

I can bet a couple of you know what I’d choose for this one- It’s pretty easy, because it’s in the title. Queens of Geek is the perfect story for this one and it’s probably in my top five books for this year.

13. Princess Monoke: A book with a great plot but brutal/bloody imagery

My friend chose one for this since I could not think of a single thing that would work for it. Game of Thrones, I’ll give it an A for plot, since it does sound quite interesting and the world building is awesome but it is brutal and bloody. I never finished the first book 8962though, but there’s nothing else I could put in this place unfortunately.

14. The Cat Returns: A story with a talking animal/creature

Once again there was only really one thing I could think of for this; Cirque Du Freak. There’s those little creatures that can talk, though it’s not revealed until later in the series that they can in fact speak.

 

 

 

 

 

I’m going to tag suesreadingcorner, thebooksareeverywhere, bionicbookworm and kyletalksbooks! Have fun! And anyone else who wants to do this, you’re very welcome to and say that I tagged you!

9 thoughts on “Book Tag – Studio Ghibli Book Tag”

      1. Oh I’ve heard of that!! I had no idea that’s what it was about though! Now I need to watch it. I’m not normally a movie person so it sometimes takes me a while to see things lol

        Like

  1. So I love CutiePieMarzia (even named my precious kitty after her) but I had trouble getting into her book! My Neighbor Totoro is my favorite Studio Ghibli film so maybe I will give the book another chance. I am about halfway through is it worth it to keep going?

    Like

    1. I had trouble getting into it too! (I think that was mostly due to spelling errors and I had to re-read parts). But I persisted and was happy with the end of it, for me it definitely was worth it to keep going!

      Like

Leave a Reply

