Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books I HAD to Buy but Still Have Not Read

Oh gosh- Where do I even begin with this one? I’m pretty sure every book I have on my shelves are ones I had to buy but still haven’t read yet. But I looked at my shelves and took out some of the ones I’ve heard are amazing, and maybe you can help me choose what to read?

20170523_203543[1]

At number 10, it’s ‘It Looks Like This’ by Rafi Mittlefehldt. I’ve heard a lot of mixed reviews and I’m also aware of what happens at the end, but I’m still curious to read it myself, especially since I own it.

Number 9 is ‘Labyrinth Lost’ by Zoraida Cรณrdova. I’ve heard a lot of positive reviews about this book and from the sounds of it, I’ll definitely enjoy it, plus it’s said to have a lot of diversity.

In at number 8 is ‘The Bone Witch’ by Rin Chupeco. Once again, I’ve heard a lot of positive reviews on this book and it sounds like something I’d love and wouldn’t be able to put down once I started.

Number 7 is a book I’ve heard so much about, even one of my close friends has said how much feeling and emotion he got from it, ‘The Hate U Give’ by Angie Thomas. I really want to read this, I just need to find the time, I know I’m going to love it.

Coming in at number 6 is ‘Daughter of Smoke and Bone’ by Laini Taylor. I’ve heard a lot of mixed reviews about this one too, but I think it still falls on a more positive than negative? At least from what I’ve seen.

Halfway through at number 5, I have ‘The Wrath and the Dawn’ by Renee Ahdieh. I’m always interested in reading retellings and this one definitely sounds amazing.

Number 4 is ‘Six of Crows’ by Leigh Bardugo. I’ve definitely heard a lot of mixed reviews about it – A lot of people say either negative or positive things about it, never neutral. At least from what I’ve seen. So I keep ‘um’ing’ and ‘ah’ing’ about it.

At number 3, I have ‘Simon Vs. The Homo-Sapiens Agenda’ by Becky Albertalli. I’ve heard mostly good reviews about it and the only negative thing was something said by Simon in the book – I believe the author has talked about it on her twitter.

Wow, we’re at number 2 already, here I have, ‘Half Bad’ by Sally Green. This is definitely mixed reviews from people. I did try to read it once, last year, I believe, but I wasn’t in the mood so I put it down and can’t remember a thing about it, except magic???

Finally at number 1! I have Akarnae by Lynette Noni. I first heard about this when Tilly talked about it, and it certainly sounds like something I would really love to read and would enjoy!

 

*Note: This was in no real order, it was just the first 10 books I saw on my shelves and thought were particularly good ones*

 

So, my friends, what are some of the books on your shelves that you just had to buy but haven’t read yet?

What book off my list have you read and would recommend?

Let me know in the comments below!

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books I HAD to Buy but Still Have Not Read”

  1. You have to read Six of Crows when you get the time. It’s amazing! I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and am very impressed by your blog. I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Like

    1. Hey! Thank you, I’ll have to put it towards the top of my TBR pile.

      Also your blog is very good! Your reviews are interesting and you express your thoughts and feelings perfectly. I’m not really sure what tips I could possibly give, but I do recommend you check out http://thebookavid.blogspot.com
      She has a lot of good tips and pointers for bloggers just starting out!
      I guess all I can basically say is, write posts about books you care about, books you need people to know about (whether for a negative or positive reason) and if you want to write a topic/representation post, look to others to help you in writing it (like I did with my trans rep post).

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank goodness I’m not the only one that does this!! I insist that I NEED them as soon as they come out and then I don’t read them for months!!! Why do we do this? Oh I know! We’re book hoarders!! ๐Ÿ˜‚ a few I bought but haven’t read yet are Truthwitch, The Nightengale, Passenger, and A Darker Shade of Magic…… ill read them soon…. maybe….

    Like

  3. Six of Crows is one of my favorite books so I hope you get a chance to read it and end up liking it as much as I did! Thanks for sharing, and fabulous post! โค

    Like

  4. Happens to me all the time ๐Ÿ™‚ I can’t believe you bought The Hate U Give and still haven’t read it yet! If I had that one :D… ๐Ÿ˜€
    As for my books I’ve bought and haven’t read yet… I am pretty much afraid to look ๐Ÿ˜€ I know there’s Good Omens, and The Ocean at the End of the Lane, and the Anansi Boys.. And all sorts of stuff like that. So yeah. maybe I shouldn’t be saying anything to you about THUG ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

Leave a Reply

