Transgender Representation, Media and Characters

LGBT+ Representation.png

Yes this is going to be long but it’s all worth it!

I hope you take the time to read through this and think about what’s been said. If you’re transgender or non-binary, you’re very welcome to state any opinions in the comments below! They are very welcome!

Anybody mentioned in this post has given me permission to use their first name and talk about what they’ve said to me. I’ve let them know that if they want anything removed at any time, they’re welcome to tell me and I’ll remove it.

I’ve asked that they tell me what pronouns to use throughout the post so I’m not misgendering them.

If I have linked to a blog, please do not send them any rude, disgusting or negative messages. They are all very nice people who have helped me write this.

 —

Recently I did a post on how positive LGBT+ books have helped me feel normal, now I wanted to talk about something more specific – more close to home and to heart.

I mainly identify as a transgender man. I was assigned female at birth and identify as male (and the reason I say ‘mainly’ is that I also sometimes identify as agender).

I’ve asked some friends, who are transgender, and other transgender (binary and non-binary individuals) to help me out by telling me about their experience as a transgender person and how media/representation has either helped or lacked when figuring things out, coming out and what they hope to see in the future.

Introduction to us: When did you find out the word ‘transgender’? Did you know what it meant at the time or did you have to look it up? When did you start identifying as transgender? Did you have any media to help you figure things out?

Hayden is a demiboy who goes by he/him pronouns. He says: “I think I always kinda knew what trans meant but it took me a long time to realize there was a difference between transgender and transsexual, so I’d say I was around twelve-ish when I was actually educated about it. I started identifying as a boy when I was twelve and realized I was a demiboy when I was thirteen. The internet definitely helped with that because I had no idea what demiboy even was before I saw someone say the word online.”

Andrew (Me), is a trans man and agender (my identity sometimes changes between male and agender/genderless) who goes by he/him or they/them pronouns. I say: “I found out the word when I was about 17, when my friend, Charlie, came out. I was a bit confused at first, it was a new word. But I looked it up, I found the meaning, I realized that it also applied to me. It felt right! I never had any media whatsoever before I figured things out. Everything was very cis-heteronormative.”

Charlie is a trans man who uses he/him pronouns. He says: “I’d probably say I’d heard of the word ‘transgender’ as a child but didn’t really understand it until I was a young teen. I didn’t start identifying as transgender until I was in my late teens but I felt a ‘disconnect’ or something with my body/associating myself more with male things but I didn’t really understand it until later. And for media related things I can’t really think of any, I suppose it’s probably got to do with the lack of trans related content while growing up and if that was around I’d probably have realised what I was feeling earlier.”

Logan is a non-binary boy and goes by he/him pronouns. He says: I knew about gay people first, like most people. My mom had some lesbian friends who had had their partners for decades by the time I knew them, so while I didn’t know any words, it was normal to me for a woman to have a partner (and same with men having male partners). I heard about trans people through the internet, probably through articles about them, though my memory is a little fuzzy. They were presented to me as something that wasn’t me and wasn’t exactly the norm, but not as a negative. Sort of the way we look at other cultures with a weird zoo-like “people actually live like this?” feeling. When I was sixteen I thought maybe I wasn’t all girl anymore. I identified as nonbinary for a year or so, though I never asked for they/them pronouns or anything because I didn’t know that was a thing. I stopped wearing ‘girl clothes’. I didn’t know that nonbinary people were considered trans back then. I came out as a trans boy the summer before my senior year of high school. Changed my name and pronouns and cut my hair. I now identify as a nonbinary boy. Some helpful media was realizing that the all the actors/characters I looked up to were a similar type of man (effeminate, or with my lanky body type, or less masculine somehow) and that it wasn’t a normal “girl crushing on male heroes” situation, but “boy finding role models.” so in that sense, media was helpful, but it wasn’t necessarily TRANS media.”

Cass is a trans woman who uses she/her pronouns. She says “I don’t actually remember the first time I came across transgender specifically, but I do know I thought I knew what it meant and was very wrong. I basically equated it to cross dressing. I started identifying as transgender when I was 19. Nomi’s character in Sense8 definitely helped me come to terms with my understanding of my gender, particularly realizing that a trans person can be more than just trans, and can have a full life with friends and love and such.”

 

Since coming out, have you found too little, just enough or too much representation for transgender people in general, specifically for your identity? Has any representation been negative, neutral or positive? (This can include books, movies, TV shows, documentaries, blogs online, people/celebrities you know or in general)

This was a pretty in depth question from everyone. We all did agree that there wasn’t enough trans representation out there. There is some but a lot of what does exist is very stereotypical and negative/problematic.
Hayden said to me that he found it hard to find any media that even mentioned his identity, let alone had a character that was a demiboy like himself.
I felt that most people who made ‘trans rep’ only did so to say “hey diversity!” and it ended up being incredibly harmful towards us, especially in Parrotfish, which I’ve mentioned before on this blog, where the main trans boy character uses ACE bandages with no repercussions, it’s harmful. Someone who doesn’t know what ACE bandages can do to you could try it and potentially kill themselves by accident because of this bit of negative rep. Whenever I think about positive trans man rep, I can only ever think of a couple of short stories I’ve read, never full length novels and barely anything to do with any other media, especially TV or movies. I can definitely think of some for trans women but then when it comes to non-binary folk, there’s absolutely nothing and that saddens me.
Charlie mentioned that “there has been some more content for trans women (which is good of course) but there’s a lot less mainstream media featuring trans men (that I’ve encountered), I’d say there have been a lot of negative things like using being trans as a punchline”. However he did manage to remember one positive/neutral piece of representation from Dragon Age Inquisition, Krem who is a trans man. Charlie said “while he does have some dialogue that is for cis people’s benefit I feel like he is a pretty good character overall”.
Logan certainly agreed that a lot of trans rep was seen as negative and the first time ‘queer-coded-evil’ became really obvious to him was when he was watching Tales of Earthsea with his boyfriend (who is also trans). He saw the character of Cob, a very fem drawn amab character and said ‘goals’ to which his boyfriend said ‘I mean yeah, but he’s the antagonist’. That would have hurt a bit because you look up to someone and then feel like you can’t because they’re seen as a negative. Logan described trans rep as this weird matryoshka of majorities where if you’re going to have a trans character, it’s a woman. But if you’re going to have a trans male character, he’s going to be indistinguishable from your cis boy characters. But if you’re going to have him be obviously trans, he’s going to look the same as every other trans boy in media: binding, short hair, on T or trying to be, wears sneakers and plaid or button-up shirts, probably plays the guitar, you know the type. And we’re not all like that.” (He actually has a very great blog post about this which can be found here) He continued on to say that he had not found a single piece of media that represents HIM accurately. He told me, “It’s saying something, because I read a ton and spend probably more time than I should on Netflix, so I’m exposed to a large variety”.
Yet… he still can’t find anything? That does sound weird doesn’t it? Because there’s so much out there, written or directed or made in so many ways, yet here we are, with little to nothing.
He added that it’s especially hard finding character’s in fiction/media where the use of they/them pronouns are used, which I would have to agree with. He mentioned the only thing he could think of was Radio Silence by Alice Oseman but the negative thing about it is that the MC of the book made up this character so it’s not like it feels normal.
Cass told me that there’s far too little representation and that any rep she has found has been rather simplistic characters/media in which the trans person is nothing more than their identity. She said “one of the big things representation should do is provide examples of the represented identity in contexts that aren’t exclusively about their identity, in order to show that they are complete, complex people and not just a specific identity. I’ve found this almost completely lacking in what little representation there is.”

After reading everyone’s opinions, thoughts, feelings… all of us could only say at least one good, positive piece of representation we’d consumed. One. Out of everything that could possibly be out there, of the short stories, full length novels, TV shows, movies, news, documentaries, only one thing each. How many more trans people are feeling the same? Can you imagine having to go years without any sort of media that could help you figure out who you are? That there are others like you? That you’re normal?
It sounds unreal, doesn’t it?

 

Out of any fictional media you have seen or read, has any of it been extremely negative or has been overly stereotypical or even potentially harmful towards transgender people?

This was definitely one of the more interesting and, to be honest, I guess, hurtful questions I had. Because once again, all of us could agree that we’d; a) encountered negative or harmful representation and b) been actually hurt by it.
Hayden said he’d definitely seen a lot of gross representation, that “most media is made by cis people and it’s definitely stereotyped a lot” which I completely had to agree with. Considering a lot of ‘representation’ I’d seen, before #OwnVoices books started being published, was a lot of ‘cis person’s perspective of transgender sibling/child’ which only focused on the family member’s feelings and thoughts, and never actually on the transgender character’s.
I, personally, can probably count more negative media out there than positive. Negative: I am J, Luna, Parrotfish, About Ray, Hopeless Romantic, Born This Way, Boys Don’t Cry… What people really need to understand is that some things can be really harmful towards us and you need to talk to trans people before you write or create something you don’t really know anything about.
With the amount of “man in a dress” jokes in media, it was (unfortunately) very quick for Charlie to answer this question with, “It’s less common now but lots of media used the “you’re really a girl/guy?!” joke or the “man in a dress” punchline which is definitely harmful especially for children who feel that they don’t match their body”. Logan also agreed with Charlie on this, as they (and myself) feel that it’s possibly one of the worst and most harmful forms of  stereotypical ‘rep’ because the joke is used to humiliate a cis man for being feminine or ‘tricking’ the audience/other characters or even being shown as some sort of ‘sexual perversion’. While the word ‘transgender’ isn’t mentioned but the word ‘cross-dresser’ is, it still impacts on trans people, specifically trans women (and feminine aligned non-binary people) as so many seem to think that the two go together.
Logan continued by saying, “With trans women, most written pieces were by mothers of small amab children who were rejecting their assignment and so included deadnames (harmful) and surnames (could enable hateful folk to hunt them down), and to a sixteen-year-old, I thought I had missed the boat by at least twelve years and therefore couldn’t possibly be trans.”
His answer ended with pop culture and how it usually goes, which I had to completely agree with;
“It seems to be this way, according to pop culture: trans women are visible and that visibility carries death with it. Trans men are invisible, and that invisibility renders us nonexistent. Both are incredibly harmful. ‘Trans women are “disgusting,” trans men are “confused,” and “nonbinary? now you’re just making things up.” it’s sickening.”
In the end, people still laugh at these jokes, so creators still include it. But that doesn’t make it right.
Cass felt the same way, her first thought drifting to Silence of the Lambs, which frames trans women as inherently mentally ill and violent. Because of such negative ‘rep’, she said she’s found it hard to come out to some people because she developed an expectation of negative reaction and therefore delayed her from coming out. She ended by saying, “This can also cause issues with how cisgender individuals see us, since it can help normalize negative reactions.”

And it definitely does! I’ve certainly had negative reactions from people who have explained that the only “transgender things” they’ve seen have made them feel uncomfortable or disgusted by us. They only see what the media and society really allows them to see and unless there’s a change… how is it going to get better? We shouldn’t have to feel so horrible or upset yet people continue to make us feel that way.

 

Has any media in general helped you explain to your parents (or family/friends) how you identify or helped them understand meanings?

Charlie and Cass said ‘nothing’. Charlie couldn’t think of anything and Cass said she used more educational resources than media. It’s stunning to know that there wasn’t really anything that could have been given to parents (or family/friends) in order to help them understand.
Hayden isn’t out to his family, though he said that he’s used different media to explain certain terms to his mom all the time.
For me, while I’m out to my parents, there’s not really anything I can give them that will help. I have my mum reading If I Was Your Girl at the moment though, which, while it’s about a trans girl and not a trans boy, there were still things in there that could help her understand me.
Logan had a lot more to go off, as he knew very well what he wanted, so he used photos of @spencerofspace and @criedwolves to show his parents that in order to be trans he doesn’t have to want to look like a bodybuilder. He said, “The elegant androgyny of circus performers and tolkien-esque elves have also been sources of inspiration.”
He continued on saying that he first showed his family interviews with Laverne Cox, which helped, and now he sends his mom articles about trans people every now and then. He said he found it hard showing media to his parents, since his mom thinks she understands but she “really doesn’t have a handle on the entire thing” and his dad doesn’t seem to acknowledge anything that’s shown to him. While parents can be a bit harder though, Logan mentioned having a younger sister who is bisexual and does understand. He ends by saying, “Trans media is mostly to make me and my friends feel better about ourselves, to remind us that we’re not freaks and that we DO deserve to have stories told about people like us, just like every minority.”

I tend to agree with that last line though. Trans media, specifically when done right, is mostly for trans people, to help us, to make us feel normal and that we do deserve love or care or happiness or to be heroes.

 

What kind of representation do you want to see in the future?

Oh a much happier question! Authors, please take note! Listen to your fellow trans people!
The main thing we all came up with was: variety.
We were sick of seeing the same old stereotypical stuff and we wanted to see more diversity and variety within our trans community. We’re all very different!
Hayden said specifically that he’d love to see more trans people playing trans people on screen, that he’d feel great seeing it.
I specifically went on to say that I wanted to see, “A feminine trans boy who loves skirts and masculine trans girls who have spiked up hair and wear jeans and a tshirt. Give me nonbinary people who aren’t androgynous (or are only respected if they are). Give me trans characters who break stereotypes and give me more diverse trans characters/rep, like bisexual, pansexual and ace/aro trans people.”
Charlie stepped in to say that he wants to see trans characters as part of the main cast rather than side/minor characters with no real background or reason for being there. (Remember the ‘thrown in for diversity’s sake’). He specifically said, “Characters that are fleshed out and have other aspects to their personality, if that makes sense, I guess media that shows that transgender people aren’t weird or funny but are like everyone else and can have supportive friendships and romances etc”.
Cass agreed with variety but also wished to include happy endings, she wanted to see trans people with happy endings, trans people who were seen as normal and respected. I can understand her want for that and I want to see more stories like this too.
Logan actually sent me a wishlist for this, which I found extremely entertaining to read, but also, I agreed with literally everything that was written there.
He said:
1) Variety
2) More. He wants to see more trans people in everything, no matter the genre
3) Well-Roundedness. He wants trans characters that are more than just their identity. His transgender identity is not his whole entire world or complete identity, so why should characters be the same?
4) Normalization
5) Less tragedy. Going back to what Cass was saying! Happier endings, no death or suicide or self harm! Character arcs, backgrounds and backstories not having to do with incredibly emotional and distressing negativity.
6) Input from trans people. I think we all agreed that it would be a lot better if cis people would talk to trans people before creating certain characters.
7) Variety. He said it bears repeating and I agree. We are all different. I want to see everyone I’ve talked to about this on screen or in a book, I want to see myself in a book or on screen. I want other trans people, whether young or old, to see themselves on screen or in a book and feel good about themselves and know that they are valid.

 

Do you feel like a lot of “trans rep” is for the benefit of cis people to ‘understand’? (Like, the reason trans characters are always so stereotypical is because cis people can’t (or won’t) understand the differences in all of us).

This was a really easy question for all of us – Because we all said yes.
Hayden and I were very simple on our answers, just saying yes and that we’ve seen that cis people seem to find it ‘weird’ if we didn’t ‘uphold a stereotype’.
While Charlie agreed, he added that it’s not necessarily a bad thing to have trans characters as a means of helping cis people understand however it’s the way it’s done that needs to be changed. He said that the thing that annoys him most was that the stereotyping of trans characters was to make it ‘easier’ for cis people though it just ends up being hurtful for others.
Logan certainly agreed, stating that this is “WHY CAITLYN JENNER IS SO DAMN POPULAR. There’s also a facet of that that’s about ogling the weird thing, too. A lot of trans stuff is dumbed down for cis audiences in a way that fails to educate them and reinforces their outdated, inaccurate, or otherwise shitty ideas about us, and therefore is for the benefit of exactly nobody”.
Cass adds that particularly in mainstream media, most of the rep that isn’t deliberately damaging is for the benefit of cis people.

So my question is… Why must media continue to be harmful to us for the sake of cis people? Why do cis people want to see us as some sort of ‘weird freakish monster’? There’s nothing wrong with us, for us wanting to be ourselves yet, cis people seem to want to make us out to be the ‘bad guy’.

 

Have you ever felt like you had to conform to the stereotypes of your gender identity because of society’s views and/or the media/representation that is out there?

The overall answer, once again, sadly, was ‘yes’. We all have felt like we’ve had to conform to the stereotypes of our gender identity. For me, personally, it was to make sure my identity was respected. Logan felt the same way, that he felt he had to be masculine or abandon feminine things in order to be safe. This isn’t how we should live.
Charlie mentioned having to try and prove his ‘masculinity’ to prove his identity. He felt like he had to abandon things he enjoyed because they were seen as stereotypically ‘feminine’.
Logan and Cass talked especially about the medical system (trans health care system) since a lot of the cis people in the system want you to conform to the stereotypes so that they basically know you’re not “lying to yourself” or “just confused / mentally ill”.
Logan added that due to so many truscum/transmedicalists, a lot of young trans people have asked questions on forums and posts, asking if they’re valid for not wanting to do this or that. Common questions being, “If I don’t bind/pack, am I really a trans boy?” or “I have no desire for (x surgery) does that make me not trans?”. The answer is honestly, you are transgender no matter what. If you were assigned one sex at birth but identify as something else, whether that be male, female, agender, or any non-binary identity, you are transgender and you are valid (*note, not all non-binary individuals classify themselves as transgender, this is a personal word choice).
Logan added that he’s tried to conform to a masculine presentation in order to feel safe, respected and more but he wasn’t happy. He didn’t feel right and he decided to forget what others would think or say, he knew who he was and is and he’ll never hide it again.

 

Who we are:

Hayden is a young demiboy whose parents are kind of iffy about trans people. He says that his parents don’t hate trans people but they are still kind of transphobic. He’s had exes that supported him and exes that responded negatively. He enjoys video games a lot, has a puppy and very much enjoys writing, especially poetry. He does think being biracial affects him being trans – “Lots of people think poc can’t be trans for some reason and I’ve definitely heard and seen other biracial and poc in general treated badly for being a poc and trans, and it’s part of why I’ve been hesitant to come out”. He’s a fairly relaxed individual (and kind friend to me and everyone else) and also shares my love for LGBT+ books (and books in general).

I am Andrew, a trans man who sometimes identifies as agender as my gender (or lack of at times) is fluid. I realized I was trans when I was about eleven but it wasn’t until I was seventeen when I learned the word and found out that I wasn’t the only one who had these thoughts and feelings. I started identifying as transgender around 17-18. My parents have been somewhat supportive. They’re more accepting and quick to respond to other trans people than me. I’m not 100% sure why but they are. My mum has been a lot better over time and has even (seemingly) ‘come to terms with it’. My mum, and her side of the family, are rather religious but that hasn’t really been a problem with me being trans, unlike what you see in media. They do seem a little iffy (mainly because I’m the first person to be an out trans person as far as I know) but they seem to try their hardest to make me comfortable. All my friends were pretty accepting right off the bat and only two of my ex’s know that I’m trans, and both at the time were rather accepting. I have way too many interests but some things I do love are writing short stories, watching gamers on Youtube, reading books and watching horror movies! I love animals so much as well, especially ferrets and have two of them!

Charlie is a friend from high school that I have recently reconnected with. His family has had a lot of negative reactions so he’s unfortunately “gone back into the closet” in terms of family. However with his more private/other online stuff (e.g. his Tumblr) he just says that he’s a male not that he’s trans. He’s a rather loving, caring and adorable guy, which you can tell by his love for animals, mainly dogs and rats, as well as his ridiculous collection of stuffed animals. He feels his current partner is pretty supportive but there are times where he is uncomfortable referring to Charlie as male in front of other people because of how they react to it. He’s said that having another trans male friend has been really positive and with friends in general, it’s been a mixed bag with some being supportive and others being mocking or condescending. In order to relax, he plays a lot of games, especially Legend of Zelda and rpgs. He’s an incredibly drawer and he hopes to create a web comic sometime in the future. (Which I’m looking forward to!)

Cass has just finished her computer science degree last week, and she went full time this semester. Aside from school she likes swords, video games, dramatic make-up, and spending time in nature. She’s pretty introverted, so she spends a lot of time alone or with a few close friends. Most of her friends are queer, and probably around half are trans or non binary, so she’s had a great support system through them. She’s never been super close with her family, but the list of family members she talked to did get a bit shorter when she came out. She feels she’s privileged enough not to have to worry about them or what they think too much.

Logan was home-schooled until he was 13 because of severe separation anxiety. He explained he had a very gender-free, choice-based childhood. His friends and himself were pirates or adventurers or Robin Hood and there was no need for “boy things” and “girl things”. He believes this is why it took until the age of 16 to realize he was different. When he did eventually go to school, it was encourage to be individual, so he never felt like he had to keep to his assigned gender in order to please anybody. When he did come out, it took his sister two days to learn his pronouns, his mother two weeks and his father approximately two months. There have been hurtful things said on both sides but he says he truly has wonderful parents and though they don’t really understand it, they do their best. He reveals he’s a confident person and lucky to be so; due to his presentation, he feels he has to be loud about being trans if he wants his pronouns used. “Hi, I’m Logan, what are your pronouns?” has become a common phrase he uses because usually people then ask in return what his pronouns are. He tries to depoliticize his identity as much as he can due to other people always politicizing it for him and he’s not trans as a political move. He lives in a rather activist town, so everything is political and he finds it exhausting at times. He feels overall that he’s had a more positive trans experience than many trans kids. As any trans person though, he has run into some negative stuff, including the odd TERF here and there (one famously telling him that he ‘thought he was trans because he ‘didn’t get enough positive feminine love as a child’’ as well as some rather nasty encounters, but all around it has been pretty accepting and good. His upbringing was full of empathy but he doesn’t know how much of it was due to that and due to the fact that he’s trans. As a trans person, he can understand feeling erased or passed over or demeaned or devalued because of something you can’t control, and therefore understands how other minorities would feel (e.g. race, disability). He’s a huge reader and writer. He writes novels and slam poetry. He enjoys theatre and works backstage at a professional theatre in town. He goes to a liberal arts college, continuing the freedom of education that he’s used to. He’s currently looking towards getting top surgery done and he’s so sure about doing it and he feels that he’s never been so sure about not regretting something in his entire life. He’s worked hard to understand, learn and be there for other minorities and especially for the trans community. He’s aware that it’s not his job to educate cis people but the truth, he feels, is that they can’t always ‘fend for themselves’ and seeing as gender isn’t raw for him, he can handle those conversations. Sometimes he feels like his transness is like wearing a very long, heavy robe at all times. “Everyone notices it, I trip over it all the time, I always have to explain it, it gets in the way constantly, I can’t do certain things because of it, I will never truly have a place among the “normal” because this robe thing doesn’t fit in a bus seat and I think this metaphor is getting away from me”.  He tries his best not to let it get bad, but it happens sometimes. He was badly depressed in high school and while it’s better now, it still lingers. He also has ADD and dyscalculia so he finds himself scatterbrained at times and has to deal with having a wayward mind. His core philosophy is that rules only have as much power as you give them, and you can always choose not to follow them. He knows that sounds like a rebel teen thing, but it’s not intended that way. That has been a freeing mindset for most things, transness included, for him. He believes strongly in “do no harm, take no shit” also, and individual autonomy and being mindful of your impact.

 

So in the end, do trans people have any positive representation? Very little it seems- But let’s take a look at it:

As you can see, each trans person above experiences life in different ways and there is more than just our identity and experience up there. While our experience is a part of us, it is not the only part of us and it should never be the only thing to focus on. We’re all so different!
Yet in media we continually see the same few things;

Straight or Gay trans men

Straight or lesbian trans women

Barely anything but straight or gay in regards to sexuality

Barely anything when it comes to nonbinary representation

Overly feminine trans women / Overly masculine trans men – To the point where it’s almost (or is definitely) toxic

“Trans stories” being told by the cis sibling or parent because their “views and thoughts” are more important than the trans character

Focusing on coming out and the negatives instead of being heroes or being accepted for who we are or even being seen as an actual human being

 

There’s nothing wrong with some of the above, there are gay trans men, there are extremely feminine trans women, and they are amazing individuals, but these stories are the only ones being told, and they’re being told in, sometimes, the most harmful or problematic of ways.

When writing or creating a transgender character, binary or nonbinary, you should talk to different trans people, listen to their experiences and how they want to be seen! It helps to understand things from our point of view, to see things from our point of view. And especially to include more than just our identity and our coming out as a focus on your story.

Please take the time to actually get to know trans people before you start to write us, we’re more than just a stereotype, and there’s more to us than just our gender identity and coming out.

 

If you have any questions, you’re very welcome to send me asks on Tumblr or comment below. If you need any words explained, feel free to ask and I’ll let you know!

Unfortunately not many trans women or trans people of color got back to me for this post so if any trans people, especially trans women and trans people of color have any opinions on any of the points above, you are very, very welcome to comment below!

 

 

Representation that I’ve heard is good:
(* = I’ve read/seen it and enjoyed it, if you want a specific like, whether the character is a trans man, trans woman or non-binary person, feel free to ask)

*Peter Darling by Austin Chant – (TW: Misgendering, deadnaming)

Coffee Boy by Austin Chant – (TW: Misgendering)

*If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo – (TW: self-harm mention, suicide attempt mention | It does have a happy ending for the trans girl though)

*George by Alex Gino – (TW: Misgendering, deadnaming)

Dreadnought by April Daniels – (TW: transphobia from minor characters)

The Errant Prince by Sasha L. Miller

The OA – (TV series)

*Sense8 – (TV series, transphobia from mother of trans woman)

*Boy Meets Girl – (Movie, TW: T-slur and misgendering)

*Tangerine – (TV Movie)

*Romeos – (Movie – German – Trans character played by cis actor, but trans character has a good ending, TW for misgendering though)

Love in the Time of Global Warming by Francesca Lia Block

The Pants Project by Cat Clarke

Beautiful Music for Ugly Children by Kirstin Cronn-Mills

Beauty Queens by Libba Bray

The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson

Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin

Gracefully Grayson by Ami Polonsky

Nevada by Imogen Binnie

Refuse by Elliott DeLine

The Unintentional Time Traveler by Everett Maroon

A Safe Girl to Love by Casey Plett

*Lumberjanes by Noelle Stevenson – (Graphic novel/comic series)

Lizard Radio by Pat Schmatz

Lily and Dunkin by Donna Gephart

27 Hours by Tristina Wright (Read this review for info)

The Tiger’s Watch by Julia Ember

Wandering Son by Takako Shimura

When the Moon Was Ours by Anna-Marie McLemore

For Today I Am a Boy by Kim Fu

Lost Boi by Sassafras Lowrey

Cinder Ella by S.T. Lynn

 

If you have any recommendations, comment down below!

3 thoughts on “Transgender Representation, Media and Characters”

Leave a Reply

