Review – Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire

Every Heart a Doorway

25526296

Seanan McGuire

Summary:
Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children
No Solicitations
No Visitors
No Quests

Children have always disappeared under the right conditions; slipping through the shadows under a bed or at the back of a wardrobe, tumbling down rabbit holes and into old wells, and emerging somewhere… else.

But magical lands have little need for used-up miracle children.

Nancy tumbled once, but now she’s back. The things she’s experienced… they change a person. The children under Miss West’s care understand all too well. And each of them is seeking a way back to their own fantasy world.

But Nancy’s arrival marks a change at the Home. There’s a darkness just around each corner, and when tragedy strikes, it’s up to Nancy and her new-found schoolmates to get to the heart of the matter.

No matter the cost.”

 

Review:
Honestly, I found this to be a really unique book, though the murderer was a bit easy to pick out. The idea itself, of children stepping through doors and finding themselves in worlds that are perfect for them, that was unique and interesting. I loved the idea of it and wish I could find my own door to go through. It’d be fun I think.

The characters were pretty simple and under-developed (though I believe this was due to the shortness of the novella) but that didn’t stop me from loving them for different reasons. I particularly loved Kade because he’s very much like me; a trans man, squeamish of blood/gore and a huge reader! (I also did extremely well in sewing classes at school, so if I had of kept that up, I’d literally be Kade without the magical door).

While I enjoyed it, I was a bit let down by the ending, it seemed a bit rushed and the story was incredibly short, I so wish it was longer. The killer was also rather obvious, as I said above, so this is why it doesn’t have a perfect rating unfortunately.

I am, however, very interested on getting my hands on the sequel (and any other books in this series) and continue on! It’s kept me invested so I can’t wait!

 

Rating: 4/5

 

Recommendation? I definitely recommend this to fans of horror/murder and magic! Also to those who are in a reading slump since it is a novella!

 

Buy from Book Depo or Amazon

Leave a Reply

