Top Ten Tuesday – Things That Will Make Me Instantly NOT Want To Read A Book

So these are some things that will make me not want to read a book, some are very definite things, others are a ‘might try but probably won’t like’ situation.

1: Over the top stereotypes for minorities

2: Love triangles
–  I could never get into them, even as a teenager, it just makes me angry because it’s so silly.

3: Very obvious racism / homophobia / transphobia / ableism / etc in books that isn’t a point of the plot (like overcoming one of the above or learning acceptance etc)
– I can read it if characters are defeating stereotypes or learning self acceptance or acceptance in general or people overcoming certain isms/phobias

4: Autobiographies / non fiction in general
– This is more of a personal thing, I can just never get into non-fiction for some reason??

5: Abusive parents
– unless it’s handled well and is sorted out in the end, like there needs to be a reason for it there rather than, I guess you could call it, ‘entertainment value’.

6: Abusive relationships that stay abusive through the whole book/series
– Like Fifty Shades of Grey, I can handle the ‘was abusive but learned’ or ‘was abused and left the situation’ and especially the abuser getting into trouble, that is good but if it’s thrown in there for no reason, I call it out and say it’s a problem (especially if it’s not settled correctly)

7: Things marketed as “The next (insert book series that made it)” because usually it’s either nothing like the series mentioned OR it’s too much like the series mentioned and not unique.

8: Randomly putting in r*pe scenes about women to make them “stronger”
– I never understood this and I hate reading it so if I see a review saying it’s in there, I won’t touch it. I can understand if it’s the point of the book (Like All the Rage where it’s the whole point of the story and discusses the feelings and thoughts of the survivor and stuff like that)

9: Pedophilia
– unless the person is killed/dies somehow, that’s literally the only reason I’ll read something with this in it, or if they get thrown in jail/punished. Otherwise that’s a big nope

10: Glorified self harm
– Like the recent Carve the Mark, which even had tattoos being sold that you put on your wrists that look like cut marks. It’s just wrong

 

 

 

So what reasons do you have to not pick up a book?

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Things That Will Make Me Instantly NOT Want To Read A Book”

  1. Now that I’ve seen your number 10 (I heard that there was controversy around Carve the Mark but I didn’t know what it was), I’m not sure I actually want to read it. That’s disappointing. I enjoyed the premise of Divergent (Tris actually drove me crazy), and was hopeful that Roth’s writing had matured a bit. Alas.

    eli @ the (book) supplier
    My TTT

    Like

Leave a Reply

