Andy’s Friday Recommendation

2615698729470648

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo

Now, who didn’t see that one coming?

I absolutely love this book and it will stay in my heart for the rest of my life.

This is the story of a teenage trans girl named Amanda, just trying to get through high school and for everything to be as ‘normal’ as possible. She meets a boy at school who she ends up falling for and wants to tell her past to but that may mean the boy running away.

This book made me feel normal, it made me realize that I deserve love, that I deserve to live and that I am allowed to be myself and those who care for me will stick by me no matter what and the others I need to let go.

This was a beautifully written and amazing novel that I would recommend to everyone. Young and old. Male, female or nonbinary. Please give it a chance!

TW: Suicidal thoughts, therapy sessions, forcibly outed (main character and a couple of other characters), attempted sexual/physical assault scene.

Leave a Reply

