Review – Scott Pilgrim series by Bryan Lee O’Malley

Scott Pilgrim series

Bryan Lee O’Malley

 

Summary:
Scott Pilgrim’s life is totally sweet. He’s 23 years old, he’s in a rockband, he’s “between jobs” and he’s dating a cute high school girl. Nothing could possibly go wrong, unless a seriously mind-blowing, dangerously fashionable, rollerblading delivery girl named Ramona Flowers starts cruising through his dreams and sailing by him at parties. Will Scott’s awesome life get turned upside-down? Will he have to face Ramona’s seven evil ex-boyfriends in battle? The short answer is yes. The long answer is Scott Pilgrim, Volume 1: Scott Pilgrim’s Precious Little Life.

 

Review:

The positives:
This was a surprisingly unique and fun read. It was thrilling and action-packed, I loved every moment of it. I did hate Scott in the first volume though, I do admit that, I don’t like cheating, even in fiction but that’s just a personal issue I had, but in later volumes he did seem a lot better and I grew to like him. I loved Wallace Wells, his roommate, though! Can I live with him? Probably not. I liked the idea of this too, it’s something I didn’t think I’d enjoy but it’s actually pretty gripping.

 

The negatives:
Well… There was only one, apart from my personal hate for cheating in fiction, which was the constant use of the word ‘r*tarded’. It was disgusting, though I don’t think I noticed it being used in the 6th volume and it wasn’t used in a more recent graphic novel by the author so maybe he’s learned? At least I hope so.
(I will be tagging the full word so that people can blacklist on Tumblr if need be).

 

Overall? This was a pretty fun and quick series to read. It is a graphic novel so it’d probably only take a day or two to read all of them.

 

Rating: 4/5 stars.

 

 

Have you ever read this series?

Do you know any other books like this?

1 thought on “Review – Scott Pilgrim series by Bryan Lee O’Malley”

Leave a Reply

