Distractions are such a… terrible thing.

I get distracted so often. Whether it’s by movies or the internet or… basically anything that isn’t what I should be doing right at that moment.

I made a list of 18 things I wanted to do today and, guess what, I only completed one of those things. I’ll try to do some more tonight before bed but… I’m probably kidding myself.

Granted, I did have something a bit more important to do instead of the things I wrote down. My new birth certificate arrived and I went around to different places to change my name on documents and bank accounts and stuff like that, so, you know, it was actually important.

But still, after doing all that, I still didn’t worry about doing the things on my list so- How can I change this?

 

Usually when I have a lot to do, mostly reading based things to be honest, I:

  • make a post saying I won’t be online for a while
  • log off
  • put away things that might distract me – putting my laptop under my bed or my phone away
  • sit out in the courtyard and let my ferrets run around while I relax and read

Unfortunately this doesn’t end up lasting long and I get distracted by the ferrets.

 

So, what do you do when you need to do some reading, work or just something you should be doing in general but keep getting distracted?

Leave a Reply

