Review – Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

23395680

Illuminae

Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Summary:
One moment, Kady Grant and Ezra Mason have nothing bigger to worry about than each other. Specifically, avoiding each other in the wake of their messy break-up. In the next second, their entire world falls apart.

The year is 2375 and one of the mega-corporations that control much of deep space has just fired the opening salvo in an intergalactic war, destroying Kady and Ezra’s planet. Forced to flee on a small fleet of crippled rescue ships alongside thousands of other refugees, the fear of enemy warships chasing them down is at first all-consuming but soon becomes the least of their worries. A deadly plague is ravaging the refugees on the ships; the fleet’s AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be an enemy; and High Command is refusing to acknowledge that there may be a serious problem. As Kady plunges into a tangled web of data in search of the truth, she realises that Ezra is possibly the only person who can help her save the refugees before it’s too late.”

Review:

I’m… a little hesitant to rate this. There’s a lot of good and bad things about this book – except the bad things are mainly a case of ‘It’s not you, it’s me’. I did love the storyline and I very much enjoyed the unique format, the fact that it was made out of diagrams and case files and emails and similar things, but because of this uniqueness, it was hard for me to get into and properly understand what was going on. I’m just not used to this kind of book.
I have decided that I’ll keep the book and re-read it in the future but until then, I’m putting a hold on this trilogy (I won’t read book 2 or 3 until re-reading this). I hope the next time I do read it, it’ll be better and I can understand exactly what’s going on (because to be honest, all I could really tell you is that there’s these two 18(?) year olds whose home got destroyed. And they’re on different ships and bad stuff is happening? Something like that, very basic.)

Recommend? Sure, it wasn’t a bad story, I recommend it to anyone who likes unique sci-fi, futuristic books.

2 thoughts on “Review – Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff”

  1. I haven’t read this yet, but I heard that the audiobook is really good. I’m planning to read it and listen to it at the same time. Maybe that will make it easier to follow? (It might just as easily make it harder though; as I said, I haven’t read it yet..)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

